Yoga is a group of physical, mental, and spiritual practices or disciplines which originated in ancient India.


“Pranayama is control of Breath”. “Prana” is Breath or vital energy in the body. On subtle levels prana represents the pranic energy responsible for life or life force, and “ayama” means control. So Pranayama is “Control of Breath”

Surya Namaskar

Surya Namaskar or Sun Salutation is a sequence of 12 powerful yoga poses. Besides being a great cardiovascular workout, Surya Namaskar is also known to have an immensely positive impact on the body and mind.


Yogis have been practicing dhyana (meditation) for millennia. Get expert insight here on meditation and its symbiotic relationship to yoga.


A human body is composed of three doshas commonly named as Vata (one that governs the perfunctory function), Pitta (one that keeps the body’s chemical functions in check) and Kapha (the structure manager of the body). These ‘tridoshas’ (three doshas) need to remain balanced in the body for maintaining a sound health and well-being of an individual. There can be a number of external or internal fluctuations that can lead to a lost balance between these doshas. Gathered waste, harmful toxins are some of the major causes of this disrupted rhythm.

Through the practice of certain cleansing practices, you can restore the body to its natural health and well being by eliminating all the accumulated radicals. These cleansing practices are referred to as the Shat-kriyas in yoga science. Shatkriyas (or Shatkarmas) signifies six types of kriyas that are practiced for ultimate purification of the entire body and mind. These kriyas have been the studied and practiced by sages, gurus and yogis since the evolution of yoga. You can also decipher them as the methods of preparing the body for undergoing intense practice of yoga. Being internally cleansed is of the essence for mental, physical and spiritual beautification.

Shatkriyas form a vital component in the study of eight limbs of yoga. The yogic kriyas are also explained in the ‘Niyamas’ denoting how a swachh (clean) body is closest to the divine. So, if you wish to undergo this celestial route of purification then you can learn about it by undertaking a yoga program or perform it under the guidance of a serious practitioner.


You know those little combinations locks you get when travelling? You pop them on your bags, through the loops of your zips, to keep the contents in and safe and secure? Well, your body has similar locks, called bandhas. ‘Bandha’ literally means lock, to tighten, to close-off and block. There are four main bandhas in the body:

  • Mula Bandha – the root lock
  • Jalandhara Bandha – the throat lock
  • Uddiyana Bandha – lifting of the diaphragm lock
  • Maha Bandha – all three locks at the same time

So what is the point and purpose of closing off the throat, contracting and lifting the abdomen and of drawing inward at the centre of the pelvic floor? Both separately, and all at once?

Essentially, bandhas are engaged to gain control and lock your energy – prana, being life force – the way you want. The locks are employed to attain control of your energy system, and to direct this energy to the parts of your body where you desire it to go and whatever action you want to perform.

Essentially, bandhas are engaged to gain control and lock your energy – prana, being life force – the way you want.


A mudra is a seal or gesture that facilitates the flow of energy in the subtle body. Mudras help you draw yourself inward. Each is a symbolic gesture that can stimulate different areas of the brain transmitting an exact goal of channeling energy flow during meditation.

Warmup & Stretches

  1. Centering
  2. Upper body warm up
  3. Warm up your hamstrings & activate your back
  4. Warm up the wrists
  5. Wrist mobilizations
  6. Neck Stretches
  7. Side body stretch
  8. Mobilize the spine